Select a different bill

HB 0930 - Transit Governance and Funding
Login to post your comments

Tracking Level: Support
Sponsor: Kevin Tanner
Last Action: 5/3/2018 - Effective Date
House Committee: Transportation
Senate Committee: Transportation
Assigned To:
Kathleen BowenNext Bill
Sales Tax-LocalNext Bill
TransportationNext Bill
Transportation FundingNext Bill

Staff Analysis of the Legislation

This bill provides for transit governance and funding options for the Metro Atlanta region (a designated nonattainment area currently consisting of Cherokee, Clayton, Coweta, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Paulding, and Rockdale counties) and the rest of the state. 

The Atlanta-region Transit Link (ATL) Authority is a new regional governing board that will lead the planning and coordination of transit in the Metro Atlanta region and will control state and federal transit funding.

Counties in the Metro Atlanta area would be able to call for a referendum to levy a Transit SPLOST up to 1% (and may be in .05% increments) for up to 30 years.  The county and all qualified municipalities may select transit projects for the county from the regional transit plan. The ATL Authority shall approve or deny any or all projects within a submitted transit project list and the proposed operator of any transit projects.

Lastly, counties outside of Metro Atlanta who partner with a neighboring county have the option to levy up to 1% (and may be in .05% increments) for up to 30 years. Each county planning to participate in the selected transit project or projects shall enter into intergovernmental agreements.  The referendum must pass both counties for the tax to be imposed.

A more detailed analysis of the bill can be found here.  

Bill Summary from the State Site - Click for the State Summary Page / Click for Current Full Text

Copyright @1996-2015 Association County Commissioners of Georgia