Barbara (Barb) Kirkmeyer (R-23)

State Senator Barbara Kirkmeyer

Barbara (Barb) Kirkmeyer (R-23)
Email - Web Site - Twitter

Capitol: 303.866.4876
FAX: 303.866.2012
District: 720.966.3049
Colorado State Senate
Room 346 Colorado State Capitol 200 East Colfax Avenue
Denver, CO 80203-1784
200 East Colfax Avenue
Denver, CO 80203-1784
Residence:Brighton, CO

Committee Assignments


Graduated from University of Colorado - Boulder with a Bachelor of Science Degree -Previously Co-Owned a Dairy Farm -Former Acting Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Local Affairs -Former Weld County Commissioner from 1993-2001, then again from 2008 until 2020 -Elected to the Colorado State Senate in 2020, term ends in 2024 Senator Barbara Kirkmeyer is a 4th-generation Coloradan who has lived in Southern Weld County for over 35 years. Kirkmeyer has two daughters and six grandsons. Kirkmeyer received a Bachelor of Science in Education from the University of Colorado - Boulder in 1980 and received her teaching certificate from the State of Colorado that same year. Prior to her time in office, Kirkmeyer co-owned and operated a dairy farm and was a small business owner for over 15 years. Kirkmeyer started her service to her community in 1992 after organizing her neighbors to fight the placement of four regional solid waste facilities in her community. From there, she ran for the Weld County Commission, serving from 1993 until 2001, when she was chosen to serve in the administration of Governor Bill Owens as the Acting Executive Director of the Department of Local Affairs (DOLA). After leaving her position with DOLA, Kirkmeyer again ran to become a Weld County Commissioner, being elected in 2008 and serving until she was elected to the State Senate in 2020. During her time as a Weld County Commissioner, Senator Kirkmeyer received numerous awards and accolades such as Commissioner of the Year (1993 & 2019) from Colorado Counties, Inc., and being named one of the "40 Top Women in Energy" (2015) by the Denver Business Journal.

Election / Personal Info

First Elected: 2020    Next Election: 2024
Counties Representing