Jon (Jon) G. Burns (R-159)

State Representative Jon Burns

Jon (Jon) G. Burns (R-159)
Email - Web Site

Capitol: 404.656.5052
FAX: 404.656.5644
District: 404.656.5052
Georgia House of Representatives
Room 338 State Capitol 206 Washington Street, SW
Atlanta, GA 30334
5829 Clyo-Kildare Road
Newington, GA 30446
Residence:Newington, GA

Committee Assignments


Representative Jon Burns, first elected in November 2004, was born and raised in Effingham County, in part of the area that he proudly serves today. Burns graduated from Effingham County High School and earned his Bachelor's degree in Political Science from Georgia Southern University. He holds a Juris Doctor degree from John Marshall Law School. Burns' was elected as the House Majority Leader in 2015 and serves on Agriculture and Consumer Affairs; Appropriations, Higher Education Subcommittee; Economic Development and Tourism; Ethics; Game, Fish and Parks; Rules, and Transportation Committees. Prior to serving in the House of Representatives, Burns was the 12th Congressional District representative on the Georgia Department of Transportation Board. Representative Burns is a member and Sunday School Superintendent at Mizpah United Methodist Church. He is a past member of the Rotary Club and the Georgia Southern University Alumni Association Board of Directors, Member and Past President of the Effingham County Chamber of Commerce, Member of the Georgia Agribusiness Council, Member and Past President of the Effingham County Young Farmers Organization, member of Sigma Chi Fraternity and proudly served in the Georgia Army National Guard. Representative Burns and sons own and operate a diversified agribusiness company that offers custom products and services to farmers, livestock producers, and the construction industry. Burns and his son also operate the family farm. Representative Burns and his wife, Dayle, live on the family farm in northern Effingham County. Dayle is a retired educator. They have two grown sons, two lovely daughter-in-laws, and five beautiful grandchildren.

Election / Personal Info

First Elected: 2004    Next Election: 2022
Spouse: Dayle   
Counties Representing