William (Will) C. Smith, Jr. (D-20)

State Senator William Smith

William (Will) C. Smith, Jr. (D-20)
Email - Web Site - Twitter

Capitol: 301.858.3634
FAX: 410.841.3166
District: 301.858.3634
Room 2-East Miller Senate Office Building 11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401-1991
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401-1991
Residence:Silver Spring, MD

Committee Assignments


Member of the Maryland House of Delegates 2014-2016. Appointed to the Maryland Senate on December 13, 2016. Member of the Maryland Senate since December 21, 2016. Current Assignments 2020 Chair, Judicial Proceedings Committee (Member, 2017; Vice Chair 2019) 2021 Rules Committee 2019 Executive Nominations Committee 2019 Legislative Policy Committee 2017 Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review (AELR) 2015 Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland 2015 Women Legislators of Maryland, Associate Member 2015 Maryland Legislative Latino Caucus, Associate Member 2015 Maryland Veterans Caucus (Senate Chair, 2017-2020 , Executive Committee, 2016) Past Senate Service Reapportionment and Redistricting Committee, 2022; Joint Committee on the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays Critical Areas, 2017-2019; Joint Covid-19 Response Workgroup, 2020; Juvenile Justice Reform Council, 2020-2021. Past House Service Judiciary Committee, 2015-2016; Criminal Justice Subcommittee of the Judiciary Committee, 2015-2016; Family Law Subcommittee of the Judiciary Committee, 2015-2016; Legislative Policy Committee, 2019-2020; Death with Dignity Work Group, 2015. Public Service Legislative Committee Workgroup to Study Judicial Selection, 2022-; Maryland Access to Justice Commission, 2020-; Maryland Military Installation Council, 2019-; Maryland Police Training and Standards Commission, 2019-; Maryland Sexual Assault Evidence Kit Policy and Funding Committee, 2019-2020; Task Force to Study Maryland's Criminal Gang Statutes, 2018-2020; Task Force to Study Erroneous Conviction and Imprisonment, 2017-2018; Child Support Guidelines Advisory Committee, 2017-; Director, Homeland Security Advisory Council, U.S. Department of Homeland Security (White House appointee), 2011-2013; Justice Reinvestment Workgroup, 2016-; Vice Chair, Washington Metro Area Committee, 2015-2016; Advisory Council on Determination of Impact of Regulations on Small Business, 2015-2016; Law Enforcement Officer's Bill of Rights Work Group, 2016; Board of Directors, IMPACT Silver Spring, 2013-; Board of Trustees, The Barrie School, 2012-2014; Board of Directors, The Gandhi Brigade, 2013-; The Victim Services Advisory Board of Montgomery County, Chairman, 2008-2012; NAACP, Montgomery County (Executive Committee - 2013), 2011-2013; Board of Directors, The GapBuster Learning Center, 2011-; Chair, The Community Development Block Grant Board of Montgomery County, 2008-2012. Memberships The Maryland Bar Association; The U.S. District of Maryland; The Montgomery County Bar Association; The Metropolitan Washington Employment Lawyers Association; The J. Franklyn Bourne Bar Association; National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. Awards National Defense Service Medal; Global War on Terrorism Service Medal; Joint Meritorious Unit Award; Joint Service Achievement Medal; Thurgood Marshall Award (Public Service in the Law) William and Mary Law School; W. Taylor Reveley III Award (Citizen Lawyer Award), William and Mary Law School; William and Mary Law School Election Law Society Alumnus of the Year Award; Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility Leadership Award. Biographical Information Born, Silver Spring, Maryland, February 6, 1982; The Barrie School, 2000; The College of William and Mary, B.A., (government) 2004; Americorp Graduate, Project Change, 2005-06; The Johns Hopkins University, M.A., (government) 2006; Marshall Wythe Law School, College of William and Mary, J.D., 2009; National Intelligence University, M.S.S.I, Science of Strategic Intelligence, 2018; Intelligence officer, U.S. Naval Reserves, 2009-; Attorney; Associate, The Federal Practice Group, 2014-2016; Of Counsel, Solomon Law Firm, 2018-; Married; one child.

Election / Personal Info

First Elected: 2016    Next Election: 2026
Spouse: Camille   DOB: 2/6/1982
Counties Representing