Stephen (Steve) S. Hershey, Jr. (R-36)

State Senator Stephen Hershey

Stephen (Steve) S. Hershey, Jr. (R-36)
Email - Web Site - Twitter

Capitol: 410.841.3639
FAX: 410.841.3762
District: 301.858.3639
Room 423 James Senate Office Building 11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401-1991
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401-1991
Residence:Queenstown, MD

Committee Assignments


Appointed to the Senate September 18, 2013. Sworn in October 1, 2013. First elected to the Maryland Senate in 2014. First elected to the Maryland House of Delegates, 2010. Member of the House 2011-2013. Current Assignments 2015 Finance Committee 2023 Rules Committee 2023 Executive Nominations Committee 2023 Spending Affordability Committee 2023 Legislative Policy Committee 2023 Special Joint Legislative Committee to Select the State Treasurer 2023 2015 Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics 2014 Joint Committee on Cybersecurity, Information Technology and Biotechnology 2014 Maryland Veterans Caucus (House Member 2012-2013) Past Senate Service Minority Whip, 2015-2020; Legislative Policy Committee, 2015-2020; Executive Nominations Committee, 2015-2020; Health Subcommittee of the Finance Committee, 2015-2019; Energy and Public Utilities Subcommittee of the Finance Committee, 2019-2023; Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review (AELR), 2019-2023; Judicial Proceedings Committee, 2013-2014; Rules Committee, 2016-2021; Joint Committee on Unemployment Insurance Oversight, 2014-2023; Joint Information Technology and Biotechnology Committee, 2014; Joint Committee on Access To Mental Health Services, 2014; Joint Covid-19 Response Workgroup, 2020; Maryland Clean Energy Center Task Force, 2016-2017; Marijuana Legalization Work Group, 2019. Past House Service 2011-2013 Deputy Minority Whip, 2013; Economic Matters Committee, 2011-2013; Banking, Economic Development, Science, and Technology Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee, 2011-2013; Unemployment Insurance Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee, 2011-2013; Chair, Queen Anne's County House Delegation, 2011-2013. Public Service Alternate Member, Southern States Energy Board, 2019-; Strategic Energy Investment Advisory Board, 2016-; Oyster Advisory Commission, 2016-; Workgroup on Rural Health Care Delivery, 2016-2017; Maryland Clean Energy Center Task Force, 2016-2017; Maryland Economic Development and Business Climate Commission, 2015-2016; Harry R. Hughes Center for Agro-Ecology, Inc., Board of Directors, 2015-2018; Board of Directors, Upper Shore Regional Council (member, 2011), 2014-; Maryland Offshore Wind Business Development Advisory Committee, 2013-; Bainbridge Development Advisory Board, 2011-; Mid-Shore Regional Council, 2011-; Tri-County Council for the Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland, 2011-; Economic Development Commission, Queen Anne's County, 2002-2006; Chair, Queen Anne's County Tricentennial Celebration Committee, 2004. Memberships President, Queen Anne's County Republican Club, 2002-2004. Biographical Information Born, Washington, DC, May 2, 1964; Bowie High School, 1982; James Madison University; Catholic University of America, Washington, D. C., B.C.E., Civil Engineering, 1987; George Washington University, M.B.A., 2002; Vice President, Trammell Crow Company, 1999-2003; Assistant Secretary, Maryland Department of Planning, 2003-04; Assistant Secretary, Department of Natural Resources, 2004-06; Vice President, James Lang LaSalle (commercial real estate), 2006-; Youth Football Coach, 2006-09; Member, Our Mother of Sorrows Catholic Church, Centreville; Married.

Election / Personal Info

First Elected: 2013    Next Election: 2026
Spouse: Wendy   DOB: 5/2/1964
Counties Representing
Queen Anne's