Jasper (Jaz) Ryan Martus (D-069)

State Representative Jasper Martus

Jasper (Jaz) Ryan Martus (D-069)
Email - Web Site - Twitter

Capitol: 517.373.1786
FAX: 517.373.5930
District: 810.964.5324
Michigan House of Representatives
Room 10-1088 Cora B. Anderson House Office Building 124 North Capitol Avenue
Lansing, MI 48933
612 Northwood Drive
Flushing, MI 48433

Committee Assignments

Committee Assignments


Jasper "Jaz" Martus is a lifelong resident of Genesee County, Michigan. Born to David and Karianne Martus, he took an interest in politics and developed a passion for leadership at an early age. At Powers Catholic High School, he was a State Champion in public speaking . Jasper founded the first high school chapter of the internationally renowned Euphrates Institute, where he spearheaded initiatives focused on interfaith collaboration and community service. In 2018, he was invited to speak at the United Nations for World Interfaith Harmony Week. While attending Michigan State University's James Madison College, he founded the student group Kennedy Democrats which is dedicated to helping young people develop leadership skills and consider a career in politics. Jasper also hosted the series "Trails to the Chief" which discussed adversity in the early lives of presidents and what lessons all people can learn from their experiences. He graduated from James Madison College at MSU with a degree in International Relations and a minor in World Religions. Jasper has volunteered for elected officials up and down the ballot since his mother first took him door to door for Barack Obama in 2008. He has worked in both the federal and state government. At the federal level, while working for Congressman Dan Kildee he helped with cases ranging from helping seniors access social security and medicare programs to ensuring that veterans get the care they need. While working In the Michigan Legislature, Jasper oversaw constituent services, drafted legislation, and designed communications for over a dozen different representatives.

Election / Personal Info

First Elected: 2022    Next Election: 2024
Counties Representing