Ray (Ray) Jeffers (D-002)

State Representative Ray Jeffers

Ray (Ray) Jeffers (D-002)
Email - Web Site - Twitter

Capitol: 919.715.0850
FAX: 919.733.2599
District: 336.504.5198
North Carolina House of Representatives
Room 1319 Legislative Building 16 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
16 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
Residence:Roxboro, NC

Committee Assignments

Committee Assignments


Ray Jeffers was born and raised in Person County. Ray attended Person County Schools and went on to attend Piedmont Community College (PCC) and North Carolina Agriculture & Technical Sate University (A&T). Ray was motivated to join the political realm due to his school affiliations with extracurricular clubs and organizations and his volunteerism. With Person County being his home Ray, wanted to be involved to help ensure that Person County was the best possible place to live, work, and have recreation. Ray is currently serving in his second term as a Person County Commissioner. In 2008, Ray was the youngest commissioner elected in the state of North Carolina. In August 2013 Ray was sworn in as the 97th President of NC Association of County Commissioners, being the first County Commissioner elected from Person County to serve as President, as well as being the youngest President in the Association's history. Some of Ray's passions for Person County and the State of North Carolina have included economic development, education, farmland preservation, senior services , and support of small businesses to name a few. As a Commissioner, Ray has been fiscally responsible with county's budget, promoted tax base growth, as well as expansion of employment opportunities for the county. Ray serves on numerous local, state, and National Boards. In July 2013 Ray was appointed as Chairman of the Rural Action Caucus for the National Association of Counties, where he and other key county officials represent America's Rural Counties, Burroughs, and Parishes in Washington D.C. discussing federal issues and legislation important to rural areas.

Election / Personal Info

First Elected: 2022    Next Election: 2024
Counties Representing