Brenda (Brenda) Gilmore (D-19)

State Senator Brenda Gilmore

Brenda (Brenda) Gilmore (D-19)
Email - Web Site - Twitter

Capitol: 615.741.2453
FAX: 615.253.0268
District: 615.455.1919
Suite 768 Cordell Hull Building 425 Rep. John Lewis Way North
Nashville, TN 37243
107 Cunniff Parkway
Goodlettsville, TN 37072
Residence:Goodlettsville, TN

Committee Assignments


Personal Info Born on December 9, 1952 in Sumner County Married with one child Member, Mt. Zion Baptist Church Retired Director at Vanderbilt University B.S. degree in Business, Tennessee State University, 1984 Master of Human Resource Development, Vanderbilt University, 1988 Graduate, Tennessee Government Executive Institute Graduate, Leadership Vanderbilt Graduate, Leadership Nashville Committees Member, Senate Finance, Ways, and Means Committee Member, Senate Transportation and Safety Committee Member, Joint Fiscal Review Committee Member, Joint Pensions and Insurance Committee Community Involvement Senate member of 111th General Assembly House member of the 105th through 110th General Assemblies Chair, Tennessee Black Caucus of State Legislators (TBCSL) Nashville Metro Council 1999-2007 Former President, C.A.B.L.E. Member, League of Women Voters Chair, Nominations Committee, Nashville Women Political Caucus Women in the Numbers (WIN) First Vice President, NAACP, Lifetime member Tennessee State University Alumni Association President, National Hook-Up of Black Women Music City Chapter of Links Top Ladies of Distinction Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Former Chair, Senior Expo 2003-04 Former Advisory Board, Junior League Former President and Current Board Member, Senior Citizens, Inc. President, Minerva Foundation Former Chair, Davidson County Delegation 2010-2014 The Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation for STEM Graduated-Empowerment Congress Leadership Institute, Los Angeles, CA Chair, The Northwest YMCA $5 Million Capital Campaign Past Chair of Hospital and Social Services Committee; Budget and Finance Committee; Planning and Zoning Committee; Parks, Library and Recreation Committee; and the Tourism and Commerce Committee on the Nashville Metro Council Executive Board, National Black Caucus of Black Legislature Executive Board, National Caucus Environmental Board (NCEL) Director, Women in Government Former President, Women's Network National Caucus State Legislator (NCSL) Honors & Awards Inducted into the YWCA Women of Achievement Academy Spirit of Leadership Presented by CABLE Public Service Award presented by Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Tennessee Masons, and Tennessee State University Alumni Association Nominated for the Mary Catherine Strobel Volunteer of the Year Award in 2003 and 2006 Nominee for the Athena Award in 2003 and 2004 2004 Advocacy Award by Metro Human Relations Commission 2004 Harriet Foley Award presented by Senior Citizens, Inc. 2003 Citizens Award presented by Pentecostal Tabernacle Excellent Public Services presented by Tennessee Economic Council on Women, 2005

Election / Personal Info

First Elected: 2018    Next Election: 2022
DOB: 12/9/1952
Counties Representing