Morgan (Morgan) Meyer (R-108)

State Representative Morgan Meyer

Morgan (Morgan) Meyer (R-108)
Email - Web Site - Twitter

Capitol: 512.463.0367
FAX: 512.463.5896
District: 214.239.1257
Room GN.12 Capitol Station 1100 Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78701
3131 McKinney Avenue
Dallas, TX 75204
Residence:University Park, TX

Committee Assignments


Chairman Morgan Meyer is a vocal leader for education, school finance and fiscal responsibility. He is a trailblazer for families - authoring the impact-driven legislation to protect children. Chairman Meyer represents a legislative district that encompasses Downtown Dallas, Uptown Dallas, East Dallas (including the M Streets and Lower Greenville), Preston Hollow, the City of University Park and the Town of Highland Park. Some of the most notable landmarks in the Dallas area lie inside the boundaries of the district, including the Downtown Central Business District, Southern Methodist University, Dealy Plaza, the American Airlines Center and Klyde Warren Park. Now in his third term as a state Representative, Morgan serves as Chair of the House General Investigating Committee, the Public Education Committee and Judiciary & Civil Jurisprudence Committees. During his time in the legislature, Chairman Meyer has become a go-to leader for laws that protect our children against human trafficking and sex crimes. He has authored and led to pass Texas' most comprehensive laws on trafficking, including expanding the definition of trafficking and making it easier to charge and prosecute human traffickers. For his work, Chairman Meyer was awarded the "Protect Her Award" from New Friends New Life, a leading advocate for exploited women and children. And for his work in support of prosecutors who hold these criminals accountable, he was awarded the "Law & Order Award" from the Texas District and County Attorneys Association. Morgan also has spearheaded legislation to battle against digital sexual harassment, filing a bill to criminalize the dissemination of unsolicited explicit images. Previously, Meyer served on the State Affairs, Energy and Insurance committees where he upheld conservative principles earning him awards such as the "Conservative Champion" by the Texas Conservative Coalition, "2017 Effective Conservative Lawmaker" by the Conservative Roundtable of Texas, "Champion for Free Enterprise" by the Texas Association of Business, "Legislative Hero" by the Texas Access to Justice Foundation for his commitment to fighting for access to justice, "Friend of the Taxpayer" by Americans for Prosperity, Texas Chapter, and "Conservative Achievement" by the American Conservative Union Foundation. Morgan and his wife Keana have lived in various parts of District 108 for 20 years. He served as a precinct chair when they lived in the "M Streets". The Meyers currently reside in University Park with their three children, Katharine, Elizabeth and Asher. Community activists, Morgan and Keana, are both passionate supporters of local organizations which combat child trafficking and help support women who seek shelter and support from abusive relationships. Morgan is also a member of Hyer Elementary School Dad's Club. The Meyer family attends Highland Park United Methodist Church, where they are involved with the children's ministry. Chairman Meyer is a partner at Wick Phillips law firm and has almost two decades of experience protecting business interests. Morgan has been named a "Rising Star" by Texas Super Lawyers eight times. He is particularly devoted to using his professional training as an attorney to provide legal services to those who could not otherwise afford them. Through the Dallas Volunteer Attorney Program, Morgan has volunteered at the South Dallas Legal Clinic, the Housing Legal Clinic, and the VA Hospital Clinic. Morgan is also involved in the Lawyers Serving Warriors Program, which provides free representation to injured veterans to help them secure benefits based upon combat related injuries.

Election / Personal Info

First Elected: 2014    Next Election: 2024
Spouse: Keana Bucher   DOB: 8/8/1974
Counties Representing