Cristina (Cristina) H. Pacione-Zayas (D-20)

State Senator Cristina Pacione-Zayas

Cristina (Cristina) H. Pacione-Zayas (D-20)
Email - Web Site - Twitter

Capitol: 217.782.8191
FAX: 217.782.3242
District: 773.278.2020
Section F, Room H Stratton Office Building 401 South Second Street
Springfield, IL 62706
3140 West Montrose Avenue
Chicago, IL 60618
Residence:Chicago, IL

Committee Assignments


Senator Cristina Pacione-Zayas was born and raised in Logan Square and as the child of two community organizers, she was taught from an early age the value of community and investing in young people. She honors her parent's legacy by organizing through policy and advocacy, and centers the voices of communities across the state to foment formidable change in government institutions and systems. As a mother of two public school students, she understands the needs families face in the 20th district and she is working hard to make sure government serves the people and our planet. Before joining the Senate, She was the Associate Vice President of Policy for Erikson Institute, an academic institution focused on child development where she led Erikson's policy agenda to generate systemic solutions and equitable opportunities for young children, families, and communities. Her prior experience at the Latino Policy Forum as Director of Education advanced policy informed by research and lived experiences of Latinx and immigrant communities across Illinois.Her service in Chicago Public Schools and Enlace Chicago built a track record for leveraging community partnerships, implementing restorative justice practices, and supporting the leadership of young people, parents, and educators. She previously served as board secretary on the Illinois State Board of Education, co-chaired the Kindergarten Transition Advisory Committee of the P-20 and Early Learning Councils, and served on the Governing Board of the Illinois Network of Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies, Educational Success Committee of Governor J.B. Pritzker's Transition Team, and the Education Committee of Mayor Lori Lightfoot's Transition Team.

Election / Personal Info

First Elected: 12/21/2020    Next Election: 2022
Counties Representing