Sergio (Sergio) Munoz, Jr. (D-036)

State Representative Sergio Munoz

Sergio (Sergio) Munoz, Jr. (D-036)
Email - Web Site - Twitter

Capitol: 512.463.0704
FAX: 512.463.5364
District: 956.584.8999
Room 1W.3 Capitol Station 1100 Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78701
121 East Tom Landry Street
Mission, TX 78752
Residence:Palmview, TX

Committee Assignments


Sergio Munoz, Jr. was first elected to the Texas House of Representatives District 36 on March 2010. The district includes parts or all of the cities of Hidalgo, Granjeno, McAllen, Mission, Palmview, and Pharr in Hidalgo County. Since his election, Sergio has received countless accolades, such as, recognition for his continual support and leadership from the Advocates for Patient Access, the Boys and Girls Club Texas Alliance, Alliance of Independent Pharmacists, and the U.S. Customs and Border Protection RGV Sector. The awards highlight his commitment to our community and the diligent attention he gives to District 36. Sergio has served as Vice-Chairman of the Insurance Committee and is currently Vice-Chairman of the Land and Resource Management Committee. He has also served as a member of the powerful Appropriations Committee since the 83rd Legislative Session. Sergio attended Mission High School and graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a degree in Business Administration. Afterwards, he earned his law degree with honors at the Thurgood Marshall School of Law and graduated magna cum laude. Sergio relentlessly aims to strengthen the region by supporting legislation and initiatives that improve education, healthcare, infrastructure, economic development, and public safety; including the restoration of critical funding to public schools and the Medicaid program. He believes that collaboration and communication are the most effective means of achieving the necessary results that South Texas deserves and strives to build community bridges to promote partnership among South Texas leaders.

Election / Personal Info

First Elected: 2010    Next Election: 2024
Spouse: Maria Elena   DOB: 3/5/1982
Counties Representing