Dan (Dan) Huberty (R-127)

State Representative Dan Huberty

Dan (Dan) Huberty (R-127)
Email - Web Site - Twitter

Capitol: 512.463.0520
FAX: 512.463.1606
District: 281.360.9410
Room GS-2 Capitol Station 1100 Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78701
4501 Magnolia Cove Drive
Kingwood, TX 77345
Residence:Walden, TX

Committee Assignments


State Representative Dan Huberty was sworn in to serve District 127 in the Texas House of Representatives on January 11, 2011. He has been re-elected to this seat four times and has served in five legislative sessions. Huberty was named the Chairman of House Committee on Public Education for a second term. He has been lauded as a fair, but firm chairman who runs efficient and effective hearings. He also serves on the House Committee on County Affairs. Huberty has served on the Committee on Public Education each of his previous sessions and as the Chairman of the Sub-Committee on Educator Quality in the 84th Session. In previous sessions, he was a member of the Committees on Pensions, State Affairs and Calendars. He was also served on the Select Committee on Redistricting and a Select Committee on Transportation Funding, Expenditures & Finance. In his role as Chairman, Huberty has championed several very important pieces of legislation relating to public education. The most important being HB 3 in the 86th Session, which implemented transformational reforms to public school finance in Texas by modernizing outdated formulas, increasing the state share of funding, putting more money into classrooms, energizing teacher pay and investing in programs. Also known as "The Texas Plan" the legislation stemmed from a report created by the Commission on Public School Finance, which Huberty was appointed to after creating the entity with HB 21 in the 85th Session. Huberty has passed meaningful legislation like this in each of his sessions. He was instrumental in bringing the issue of annexation to the forefront of policy discussion during the 85th Session. He fought valiantly for property owners to have a right to vote on whether or not they want to be annexed instead of the being forcefully annexed against their will. In the 84th Session, he was approached by Governor Abbott to carry House Bill 4, which created a high quality opt-in grant program for prekindergarten in Texas. He successfully passed the bill with overwhelming support in both the House and Senate. During the 83rd Session, Huberty was successful in passing more than fourteen bills that addressed over-testing of our students in grades 3 - 8; sales options for co-generation facilities, and prohibiting the use of Common Core Curriculum in Texas schools. He was also vital in the passage of The Foundation High School Program, which completely overhauled graduation requirements by setting students on real paths to employment and decreasing the number of end-of-year tests. In the 82nd Legislative Session, he passed five pieces of legislation, ranging from regulating the illegal sand-mining along the San Jacinto River to abolishing duplicative reporting for special education teachers. Huberty's successes have earned him many honors. Texas Monthly named him one of the "Top 10 Legislators" in the biennial Best & Worst List of 2017, while Capitol Inside named him one of the "Top Texas House Floor Fighters" and a "Top Ten Legislator" in 2019, 2017 & 2015. After his first session in 2011, the Texas Monthly Best & Worst Legislator List included him as the "Rookie of the Year". Also, the Lake Houston Area Chamber of Commerce honored him as the Dr. Hayden McKay "Citizen of the Year" in 2016. Additionally, he has received multiple awards for his individual achievements, including the 2019 TACS Distinguished Service Award, the 2019 TCEA "Friend of Education" award, the 2018 "Key Communicator of the Year" award from the Texas School Public Relations Association, the 2018 TCTA "Friend of Education" Award, the 2017 "Legislator Appreciation Award" from the Fastgrowth School Coalition, the 2015 Associated Builders & Contractors "Free Enterprise Champion" award, the 2015 Texas Association for the Education of Young Children "Elected Official of the Year" award, the 2015 Houston Apartment Association "Distinguished Service Award" the 2015 Texas Association on Business "Champion for Free Enterprise" the 2015 & 2011 Combined Law Enforcement Associations of Texas "Best of the Texas House" award, the 2011 Academic Language Therapy Association "Champion for Children with Dyslexia" award and the 2011 Texas Council of Administrators of Special Education "Legislator of the Year" award. All of Huberty's achievements are indicative of his background in education and business. He served on the Humble ISD School board for five years before winning the election that sent him to the Texas Capitol Building. In his last year as a Trustee, he served as the Board President and as the Vice President and Chairman of the Finance Committee the year prior to that. Huberty currently serves as President and Chief Operating Officer of The Parking REIT, a real estate investment trust where he works to acquire income-producing parking assets. His business expertise has allowed him to work across a variety of sectors, from oil and gas to local real estate. The majority of Huberty's previous work was in the parking industry, most recently serving as an Executive Vice President for a large parking company, but he has also served as a Vice President for a natural gas fueling company. Active in his community, Huberty is a board member of the Lake Houston Area Chamber of Commerce; works with the Kingwood Chamber of Commerce and the Crosby-Huffman Chamber of Commerce. He is a member of the Knights of Columbus, and the Humble Intercontinental Rotary club; in addition, he is a board member of the Be an Angel Fund, and is active in organizations for each of his children's schools and their extra-curricular activities. Dan and his wife, Janet, have been married 24 years. They live in Walden on Lake Houston with their three children, Brianna, Ryan and Dylan, and yellow labs, Rocky and Bullwinkle. They are active parishioners at Saint Martha's Catholic Church.

Election / Personal Info

First Elected: 2010    Next Election: 2022
Spouse: Janet   DOB: 6/21/1968
Counties Representing