

## **Outline of SB 474**

§50-32-5. SB 474 establishes a 35-member Transit Governance Council (TGC) under GRTA which will represent the 13 metro Atlanta non-attainment counties (Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Paulding, and Rockdale. The TGC will be comprised of:

- 13 county commission chairmen;
- 13 mayors (chosen by a caucus of the mayors of each municipality within the county);
- 1 mayor of Atlanta;
- 3 GRTA board members appointed by the Governor;
- 1 GRTA board member appointed by the Lt. Governor;
- 1 GRTA board member appointed by the Speaker of the House;
- 2 additional county commissioners nominated by the Governor; and
- 1 additional municipal elected official nominated by Governor.

## The TGC shall have the following powers:

- 1. Establish a regional approach for transit and establish a vision, mission and goals for public transit operators eligible to receive federal funds and that operate one or more transit routes that cross a county boundary by July 1, 2013;
- 2. Develop a long-term capital investment strategy for public transit, including a prioritization of investments based on achieving the goals, objectives and performance targets of the TGC;
- 3. Authorize, coordinate and assist in planning for projects utilizing federal, state or regional funds and adopt a regional transit plan based on such planning;
- 4. Develop (by July 1, 2013 and updated annually thereafter) a strategic plan for transit that emphasizes efficiency and coordination among public transit systems within the region;
- 5. Compile and analyze data on performance metrics from public transit operators within the region;
- 6. Establish performance targets and provide (by July 1, 2014 and annually thereafter) a report to state leaders on performance measures of operators within the region. The report shall provide analysis and recommendations on public transit operators' efficiency and cost effectiveness, coordination of operations, customer service, technology solutions, privatization opportunities, safety and security, and return on investment;
- 7. Establish guidelines and investment policies regarding the use of federal funds by operators within the region, and may condition the distribution of federal funds on the basis of operators' approval and implementation of improvement plans;
- 8. Establish a united branding and marketing strategy for public transit operators other than MARTA;
- 9. Develop a unified policy for transit fare collection by and disbursement to public transit operators other than MARTA.

\*Note that a 2/3rds vote of the GRTA Board (made up nine members appointed by the Governor, three appointed by Lt. Governor and three appointed by the Speaker of the House) can overturn any vote of the TGC.

§50-32-6 Establishes the position of transit governance director nominated by governor and approved by a majority of the GRTA Board and TGC. The director is responsible for hiring the appropriate staff to fulfill and administer the requirements of the law.



§50-32-11(c) On or after July 1, 2012 GRTA may enter into contract with MARTA for not less than five years requiring MARTA to obtain signed authorization from the transit governance director and a majority of the TGC for new capital improvement projects involving federal funds. In return, MARTA's sales tax restriction for operation and capital construction will be removed.

§50-32-11(e) No later than December 31, 2014, GRTA shall enter into contract with local governments to operate GRTA's commuter transportation services (Xpress bus) that are in existence as of July 1, 2012.