Damon (Damon) Thayer (R-SS17)
Email - Web Site - Twitter

Capitol: 502.564.2450
FAX: 502.564.6543
District: 859.621.6956
Kentucky Legislature
Room 242 Capitol Annex 702 Capital Avenue
Frankfort, KY 40601

District Office:
702 Capitol Avenue
Frankfort, KY 40601
Elected: 2003    Next Election: 2024
DOB: 9/16/1967
Committee Assignments
MemberSubcommittee on Administrative Regulation Review
MemberJoint Legislative Research Commission
MemberSenate Committee on Committees
MemberSenate Committee on Rules
MemberInterim Joint Committee on Agriculture
MemberSenate Committee on Agriculture
MemberInterim Joint Committee on Local Government
MemberInterim Joint Committee on State Government
MemberSenate Committee on State and Local Government
MemberSenate Committee on Licensing and Occupations
MemberInterim Joint Committee on Licensing, Occupations, and Administrative Regulations
Counties Representing
Grant / Kenton / Owen / Scott


First elected in 2003, Senator Damon Thayer serves as the Republican Senate Majority Floor Leader, guiding bills through the legislative process on the Senate floor and helping to set the policy agenda. Prior to his leadership position, Damon chaired the State & Local Government Committee and played a pivotal role in the most significant issues of the day, including pension reform. This was evidenced by his sponsorship of Senate Bill 2 (which passed in 2013), redistricting, election law, special districts, government ethics and transparency. Senator Thayer is a member of the Scott and Grant Counties Chambers of Commerce, Scott County Farm Bureau, League of Kentucky Property Owners, the National Rifle Association, Kentucky Right to Life, and is a Kentucky Colonel.