Jimmy (Jimmy) Panetta (D-USH19)
Web Site - Twitter

Capitol: 202.225.2861
FAX: 202.225.6791
District: 831.424.2229
Room 304 CHOB- Cannon House Office Building 25 Independence Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20515-0519

Residence: Carmel Valley, CA
Elected: 2016    Next Election: 2024
Spouse: Carrie   DOB: 10/1/1969
Committee Assignments
Co-ChairCongressional Organic Caucus
Co-ChairFriends of Kazakhstan Caucus
Co-ChairHouse Agriculture Research Caucus
Co-ChairService Organizations Caucus
Co-ChairNaval Education Caucus
Co-ChairCongressional Physical Activity Caucus
Co-ChairBipartisan FFA Caucus
Co-ChairCongressional Advanced Air Mobility Caucus
FC MemberGolf Caucus
Co-ChairExplosive Ordnance Disposal Caucus
Co-ChairAquaculture Caucus
Vice ChairCongressional Offshore Wind Caucus
Co-ChairCongressional Cut Flower Caucus
Co-ChairCongressional Services Caucus
MemberHouse Subcommittee on Trade
FC MemberCongressional Fertilizer Caucus
FC MemberHouse Abraham Accords Caucus
FC MemberCalifornia Aerospace Caucus
MemberHouse Subcommittee on Intelligence and Special Operations
FC MemberState and Local Tax (SALT) Caucus
FC MemberAnti-Terrorism and Proliferation Financing Caucus
MemberHouse Subcommittee on Seapower and Projection Forces
FC MemberCongressional Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSI) Caucus
FC MemberBipartisan Wildfire Caucus
MemberHouse Committee on Budget
FC MemberHouse Trails Caucus
FC MemberFor Country Caucus
FC MemberCongressional Motorsports Caucus
FC MemberBipartisan Congressional Bus Caucus
FC MemberAmerica's Languages Caucus
FC MemberCongressional Estuary Caucus
MemberHouse Committee on Ways and Means
FC MemberAir Force Caucus (House)
FC MemberProblem Solvers Caucus (No Labels)
FC MemberFriends of Australia Caucus
FC MemberCalifornia Democratic Congressional Delegation
FC MemberCongressional Army Caucus
FC MemberNational Marine Sanctuary Caucus
FC MemberClimate Solutions Caucus (House)
FC MemberCongressional Italian American Caucus
FC MemberInternational Conservation Caucus (ICC)
FC MemberCongressional Cybersecurity Caucus
MemberHouse Committee on Armed Services
FC MemberUnexploded Ordnance (UXO)/Demining Caucus
FC MemberCongressional #FutureForum Caucus
FC MemberCongressional Travel and Tourism Caucus
FC MemberCongressional Zoo and Aquarium Caucus
FC MemberBipartisan Addiction and Mental Health Task Force
Co-ChairCongressional Sportsmen's Caucus
FC MemberCongressional Asian Pacific American Caucus (CAPAC)
FC MemberCongressional Medicare for All Caucus
FC MemberBipartisan Congressional Pro-Choice Caucus
FC MemberCongressional TRIO Caucus
FC MemberCongressional Rare Disease Caucus
FC MemberCongressional Mental Health Caucus
FC MemberCongressional Wine Caucus
FC MemberSustainable Energy and Environment Coalition (SEEC)
FC MemberExpand Social Security Caucus (House)
FC MemberBipartisan Congressional Task Force on Alzheimer's Disease
FC MemberNew Democrat Coalition (NDC)
FC MemberCongressional Arts Caucus
FC MemberCongressional Labor Caucus
FC MemberCongressional Progressive Caucus
FC MemberCongressional Diabetes Caucus
FC MemberCongressional Gun Violence Prevention Task Force
FC MemberCongressional Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBTQ+) Equality Caucus
Counties Representing
Santa Clara


United States Representative Jimmy Panetta proudly serves California's 19th Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives. His diverse and beautiful district stretches from south San Jose in Santa Clara County, over the hills into Santa Cruz County, down the coastline of Monterey County, and into northern San Luis Obispo County. First elected in 2016, he is serving his fourth term in Congress. He currently serves on the House Committee on Ways and Means, the House Committee on Armed Services, and House Committee on the Budget. He also serves as a Chief Deputy Whip in the 118th Congress.

Having grown up on the central coast of California, Representative Panetta understands the importance of giving back to the community and country that gave his Italian immigrant grandparents, his family, and him so much opportunity. He was instilled with a sense of public service and its importance to our communities and democracy and his work is reflective of the values of the people who entrusted him to be their voice in our nation's capital.

During his time in Congress, Representative Panetta has fought for affordable housing, immigration reform, the continued protection of our pristine coastline and environment, accessible health care, our agriculture industry and its farmers and farmworkers, the reduction of gun violence, a fairer tax code, major infrastructure investment, sustainable conservation practices, our military installations that are an integral part in our community and our country's security, and the deserved and promised benefits to our veterans. Through policy implementation in Congress and service to constituents, Representative Panetta remains committed to being that bridge for the people of California's 19th Congressional District to the federal government and its resources. During the COVID-19 pandemic, he secured $1.4 billion in relief for communities and families in California's 19th Congressional District and ensured relief was available for schools, local small businesses, as well as farmers and farmworkers. He has passed into law legislation to promote clean energy, protect California's forests and pollinators, support frontline health care workers, tackle hunger among military families, and provide legal services to homeless veterans and veterans at risk for homelessness.

Prior to Congress, Representative Panetta served his community as a prosecutor in Monterey and Alameda Counties and served our country as an Intelligence Officer in the U.S. Navy Reserve. In 2007, Congressman Panetta volunteered for active duty and was deployed to Afghanistan in support of Operation Enduring Freedom and was awarded the Bronze Star for meritorious service. Upon returning home, he served as a board member of the Veterans Transition Center, helped open Monterey County's first Veterans Treatment Court, and worked to establish the Central Coast Veterans Cemetery on the former Fort Ord. Representative Panetta attended local public schools and Monterey Peninsula Community College. He graduated from the University of California, Davis with an undergraduate degree in International Relations and earned his law degree from Santa Clara University. His wife, Carrie Panetta, is a Superior Court judge in Monterey County, and they have two daughters who are being educated at the same local public schools attended by Representative Panetta.