Les (Les) Farnum (R-SH033)
Email - Web Site - Twitter

Capitol: 225.342.6945
FAX: 225.342.8336
District: 337.527.2377
State Capitol 900 North Third Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70804

District Office:
PO Box 558
Sulphur, LA 70664
Elected: 2019    Next Election: 2027
Spouse: Karen (Rogers) Farnum   
Committee Assignments
MemberHouse Committee on House and Governmental Affairs
MemberHouse Committee on Ways and Means
MemberHouse Committee on Municipal, Parochial and Cultural Affairs
MemberJoint Legislative Committee on Capital Outlay
Counties Representing
Calcasieu Parish


I was born in Sulphur and grew up in the Maplewood area. I graduated from Sulphur High School in 1975, and then attended Sowela Technical School as part of the IBEW Electrical Apprenticeship Program, graduating in 1980. I am currently the Lake Charles Manager of PCS2000 (Electrical Consulting Engineering Firm). My previous employment includes Sasol North America as Electrical Reliability Manager and Phillips 66 as Electrical System Supervisor.

My wife Karen (Rogers) Farnum and I have been married for 41 years and have four wonderful children, Brandi (Powell), Jeff, Greg & Chris, as well as three grandchildren. We are members of Immaculate Conception Catholic Church in Sulphur and former members of St. Theresa Catholic Church in Carlyss. I have been a member of the Knights of Columbus for over 30 years. My public service started when I was 19, as the Head Coach of an American Legion Baseball Team. My work as a volunteer coach spanned over 25 years in youth baseball, football, soccer and basketball. Volunteering at various church and school functions has always been a way of life for me and my family. I am a proud member of the West Calcasieu Chamber of Commerce.

My public service work expanded even more when I was first elected to the Calcasieu Parish Police Jury in 2008 to represent District 15. I'm currently serving my third term. During my tenure with the CPPJ, I have served as chairman of many committees and honored by my colleagues to serve as Vice President in 2010, and President in 2012.