2023 MACo County Champion Nomination - County Innovation Award

Start Time/Date: 12:00 AM Friday, September 8, 2023
End Time/Date: 12:00 AM Friday, October 6, 2023

Enter your email address or the email address of the person you wish to register in the space below and then click the submit button next to the sentence that describes what you wish to do.
Email Address:
Submit a Nomination (email above belongs to nominator)

Additional Event Information

The Academy for Excellence in Local Governance

County Innovation Award

Deadline for Nominations: October 6, 2023


The County Innovation Award was established to recognize superb and leading-edge county programs that improve overall quality-of-life and service delivery for a county’s residents. 

The Honorable Ingrid Turner, retired Prince George’s County Circuit Court Associate Judge, MACo Past President, and former Prince George’s County Council Member instituted this award during her term as MACo President in 2012. The award is now a collaboration of the University of Maryland School of Public Policy and MACo, with support from the Local Government Insurance Trust. 

Details for Nomination:

  • Nominations submitted after the deadline will not be considered.
  • Submit this form electronically by 11:59 pm on October 6, 2023.
  • Nominated program must be operated by a Maryland county government entity, either exclusively or jointly with other government or non-governmental entities.
  • Nominator may be any current Maryland county elected official or county staff member.
  • Nomination must include a description of the program, the problem it solved or the need it addressed, the population being served, and the results of the program.
  • Special consideration will be given to those programs that did not create a burden for the county budget, but were covered by grants, partnership funds, or donations.
  • Nominations submitted previously MAY be re-submitted for consideration. 
  • Programs that have previously won an award are NOT eligible to be re-submitted (though the agency who won the award may be nominated for a different program).
  • There will be one Urban and one Rural county winner for this award.