Legislation Assigned to the Senate Reapportionment and Redistricting Committee (2)

Date of Last Recorded Action: 1/27/2023

SB 0177 SupportReapportionment - Conditions on County Submission Matt Brass
7/1/2019 Effective Date Legislative and Congressional Reapportionment Reapportionment and Redistricting -
2019/03/01 Report 2019/03/08 Report 2019/03/15 Report 2019/03/22 Report Elections
General County Government Todd Edwards
This legislation imposes certain conditions on local governments submitting reapportionment plans.  Locals can submit their own plans to the Legislative and Congressional Reapportionment Office, but only if they have the sponsorship of one of their local legislators; or locals can get the Reapportionment Office to draw their plan, also requiring the sponsorship of one of their local legislators.  Otherwise, that office becomes chaotic in terms of whose work gets done, and in what order.  Lastly, if a local government selects to submit its own plan to the Office, it cannot vote to approve such plan prior to the submittal and acceptance of the plan.  The bill also sets conditions on the plans that are to be drawn by third parties.              
SB 0491 NeutralRedistricting - New Process Proposed Elena Parent
3/4/2020 Senate Read and Referred -Reapportionment and Redistricting -
General County Government Redistricting Redistricting Todd Edwards
This legislation sets up a new process for redistricting the General Assembly and the congressional districts of Georgia. It requires two public hearings in each judicial district of the state; sets out new requirements to post redistricting plans for public inspection and comment; requires that all meetings, discussions and deliberations concerning reapportionment to be conducted in public, have a public notice, and be published on the General Assembly's web site; and subjects all related communications to open records.    
Green background on status indicates a bill has been acted on the last recorded legislative day.

Copyright @1996-2015 Association County Commissioners of Georgia