Dean (Dean) Burke (R-11)

State Senator Dean Burke

Dean (Dean) Burke (R-11)
Email - Web Site - Twitter

Capitol: 404.656.0040
FAX: 404.656.5043
District: 229.243.6267
Georgia State Senate
Room 421-B State Capitol 206 Washington Street, SW
Atlanta, GA 30334
1608 Pineland Drive
Bainbridge, GA 39819
Residence:Bainbridge, GA

Committee Assignments


Senator Dean Burke, a Republican, represents Senate District 11, which consists of Colquitt, Decatur, Early, Grady, Miller and Seminole counties along with portions of Mitchell and Thomas counties. Senator Burke serves as Vice-Chairman of the Health and Human Services Committee, and is a member of the Agriculture and Consumer Affairs Committee, the Rules Committee and the Ethics Committee. He also serves on the Appropriations Committee and is its Community Health Sub-Committee Chair, responsible for 14.1 percent of the states total budget. Prior to being elected to the State Senate, Senator Burke contributed to his community by serving five years on the Bainbridge City Council and the Lower Flint Water Council. He is also a member of the Rotary Club and former member of the Hospital Authority of the City of Bainbridge and Decatur County. Senator Burke also dedicates time to the Boy Scouts of America where he serves as a volunteer. Senator Burke graduated Summa Cum Laude from Georgia Southwestern University and went on to graduate from the Medical College of Georgia. He received his specialty training in Obstetrics and Gynecology at Mercer University School of Medicine and practiced obstetrics and gynecology for 27 years. He now serves as a rural hospital administrator in the role of Chief Medical Officer at Memorial Hospital and Manor in Bainbridge. In addition, Senator Burke is the Chairman of the Stratus Healthcare Governing Board, and is an advocate for improving health care outcomes in Georgia. Senator Burke and his wife, Thea, have been married for 36 plus years, have two children, and three grandchildren. The family belongs to the First United Methodist Church in Bainbridge.

Election / Personal Info

First Elected: 2013    Next Election: 2022
Spouse: Thea   
Counties Representing